Where To Find 20%

19 10 2007

Recently I’ve been reading up on buying a home.  Most books I’ve read, people I’ve talked to, and things I’ve seen say that you really should have 20% down to buy a home.  (I know there are ways around this but this seems to be the norm).

Where I live, a pretty cheap condo will start at $350,000 without any extras.  That means 20% down would be $70,000.  *hits the floor with head*

Do people really come up with this kind of money?  I mean, even if I was able to save $1700/month (which I can’t right now) it would take me 3.5 years to save $70,000!  I’m wondering if most people just started saving for this really early or how everyone went about buying their first home.

I know that ALL of my friends who have houses had their parents help them.  Unfortunately, we don’t have that luxury.

Any ideas on how to go about this?

Actions

Information

One response

5 12 2007
Barbara

Sorry, I know this was a while ago, but I figured I’d comment. Hubby and I have bought all 3 of the houses we’ve owned with 0% down… You just sacrafice a few percentage points to do it. Our next house we should have a substantial down payment for, but just letting you know there is no requirement if you have good credit.

Leave a Reply

