Budget Holiday

2 12 2008

Christmas is really big in my family. Like, a thousand dollars on gifts big. The tree always has heaping piles of presents under it and then tend to spill out into the hallway. This year though we have to scale it down a bit. It’s costing me so much money just to fly to my Mom’s for Christmas that we’ve instituted a $100 & 3 gift per person rule.

I’m actually having even more fun with the gift buying this way. It really makes me think about what I want to get people. I’m very excited about what I’ve bought so far and I’m excited about the possibilities of what I’ll buy next. The only downside is that I feel like it will be terrible if I get someone something they don’t love since they’re only getting 3 gifts from me. There’s this thing I want to get my Mom, and I think it would be good for her but I’m not sure she’ll actually like it. I’m debating whether to get it and hope she does or to go a safer route.

Either way, this is going to be a great Christmas. I’m looking forward to some snow (hopefully!) and baking cookies, and shopping with my Mom. I’m looking forward to hanging out with my brother (if he can peel himself away from his girlfriend for one. freaking. second.) and snuggling with my doggie.

Awww…yay. Now I’m all sentimental.

P.S. Does anyone else have a hard time getting into the holiday spirit when it’s 80 degrees outside and you have no hope of snow? I miss living somewhere where it snows this time of year.

Actions

Information

One response

5 12 2008
Karly

We usually have a big Christmas too, but last year was just ridiculous. I’m glad everyone is broke this year…I’m kind of done with the over the top gifts. I think it’ll be much nicer toned down!

Leave a Reply

